Scientific Council

The Scientific Council advises the Steering Committee on the orientation and outline of the report. It also assists in coordinating author appointments, and comments on the draft of the report in preparation for the final draft.

Council Chairs

Nancy Fraser

Nancy Fraser

Professor of Political Philosophy and Social Science, New School, New York
Ravi Kanbur

Ravi Kanbur

Professor of Economics, Cornell University
Helga Nowotny

Helga Nowotny

Professor of Social Studies of Science, ETH Zurich

Scientific council

Bina Agarwal, Professor of Development Economics and Environment, University of Manchester

Ash Amin, 1931 Chair in Geography and Fellow of Christ’s College, Cambridge University

Ernest Aryeetey, Professor of Economics and Vice-Chancellor, University of Ghana

Akeel Bilgrami, Sidney Morgenbesser Professor of Philosophy, Columbia University

Tito Boeri, Professor of Economics and Dean for Research, Bocconi University

Gustavo Cardoso, Professor of Media, Technology and Society at ISCTE – Lisbon University Institute

Barbara Czarniawska, Torsten & Ragnar Söderberg Professor of Management Studies, University of Gothenburg

Veena Das, Krieger-Eisenhower Professor of Anthropology, Johns Hopkins University

Gerald Davis, Wilbur K. Pierpont Collegiate Professor of Management, University of Michigan

Ahmed Galal, Managing Director, Economic Research Forum (ERF), Cairo

Robert Goodin, Professor, School of Philosophy, Australian National University

Peter Hedström, Professor of Analytical Sociology and Director of the Institute for Analytical Sociology, Linköping University

Torben Iversen, Harold Hitchings Burbank Professor of Political Economy, Harvard University

Katsuhito Iwai, Visiting Professor at ICU, Distinguished Fellow of the Tokyo Foundation, and Professor Emeritus of the University of Tokyo

Hans Joas, Ernst Troeltsch Professor, Faculty of Theology, Humboldt-Universität

Mary Kaldor, Professor of Global Governance, London School of Economics

Alice Kessler-Harris, R. Gordon Hoxie Professor of American History (in Honor of Dwight D. Eisenhower), Columbia University

Ilona Kickbusch, Director of the Global Health Programmme at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies in Geneva

Venni Krishna, Professor in Science Policy, Jawaharlal Nehru University

Will Kymlicka, Professor of Philosophy and Canada Research Chair in Political Philosophy, Queen’s University

Claudio Lopez-Guerra, Assistant Professor, Department of Political Studies, CIDE, Mexico City

Nora Lustig, Samuel Z. Stone Professor of Latin American Economics, Tulane University

Jane Mansbridge, Charles F. Adams Professor of Political Leadership and Democratic Values, Harvard University

Aihwa Ong, Professor of Sociocultural Anthropology, University of Berkeley

Philip Pettit, Laurence S. Rockefeller University Professor of Politics and Human Values, Princeton University and Distinguished Professor of Philosophy, Australian National University

Edgar Pieterse, South African Research Chair in Urban Policy & Director of African Center for Cities, Cape Town

Katharina Pistor, Michael I. Sovern Professor of Law, Columbia Law School

Deborah Posel, Professor of Sociology, University of Cape Town

Elisa Reis, Professor of Sociology and Political Science, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro

Annelise Riles, Jack G. Clarke Professor of Far East Legal Studies and Professor of Anthropology, Cornell University

John Roemer, Elizabeth S. and A. Varick Stout Professor of Political Science and Economics, Yale University

John Ruggie, Berthold Beitz Professor in Human Rights and International Affairs, Harvard University

Saskia Sassen, Robert S. Lynd Professor of Sociology, Columbia University

Kim L. Scheppele, Laurance S. Rockefeller Professor of Sociology and International Affairs, Princeton University

David Schkade, Jerome Katzin Endowed Chair, Rady School of Management, UC-San Diego

Johan Schot, Director of the Science Policy Research Unit, Professor of History of Technology & Sustainability Transition Studies, University of Sussex

Seteney Shami, Director General, Arab Council for the Social Sciences, Beirut

Petra Sijpesteijn, Professor of Arabic language and culture, Director of the Leiden University Centre for the Study of Islam and Society

Theda Skocpol, Victor S. Thomas Professor of Government and Sociology, Harvard University

Paul Slovic, President, Decision Research, Eugene, Oregon and Professor, Department of Psychology, University of Oregon

Dennis Snower, Professor of Economics, Christian-Albrechts-University of Kiel and President of the Kiel Institute for the World Economy

Boaventura de Sousa Santos, Professor of Sociology, University of Coimbra

Marcel Van der Linden, Research Director, International Institute of Social History, University of Amsterdam

Philippe Van Parijs, Hoover Chair in Economic and Social Ethics, Catholic University of Louvain

Leela Visaria, Honorary Professor, Gujarat Institute of Development Research

Erik Olin Wright, Professor of Sociology, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Xiaobo Zhang, ‘National 1000-Talent Program’ chair professor of economics and deputy dean, National School of Development, Peking University