The Honorary Committee will be composed of 15+ high-level personalities that will give moral and political traction to the Panel activities. The first members are the following.

Amartya Sen is Thomas W. Lamont University Professor, and Professor of Economics and Philosophy, at Harvard University. He was awarded the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics in 1998 for his contribution to welfare economics.

Muhammad Yunus is a Bangladeshi social entrepreneur, banker, economist and civil society leader who was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2006 for founding the Grameen Bank and pioneering the concepts of microcredit and microfinance.

Hilary Charlesworth is a Judge of the International Court of Justice. She has been Harrison Moore Professor of Law and Melbourne Laureate Professor at the University of Melbourne, and Distinguished Professor at the Australian National University.

Amadou Mahtar Ba is the co-founder and president of AllAfrica Global Media and serves on the UN Secretary-General’s High-Level Panel on Women’s Economic Empowerment, the World Economic Forum’s Global Network of Councils, the African Democratic Institute, the Council ONE’s African Policy Advisor.

Sheila Jasanoff is Pforzheimer Professor of Science and Technology Studies at the Harvard Kennedy School.

Carlos Lopes is a High Representative of the Commission of the African Union and a former secretary of the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa. He holds visiting positions at the Oxford Martin School and the Nelson Mandela School of Public Governance of the University of Cape Town.

Edgar Morin is a French sociologist (emeritus from EHESS) and intellectual.

Mustapha Nabli is a former Governor of the Central Bank of Tunisia, and former Minister of Planning and Economic Development of Tunisia. He has also served as the Chief Economist for the Middle East and North Africa at the World Bank.

Helga Nowotny is Professor emerita of Social Studies of Science, ETH Zurich, and former President of the European Research Council.

Youba Sokona is a Malian expert in the fields of energy and sustainable development, particularly in Africa. He has been the vice-chair of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change since October 2015 and a lead author at the IPCC since 1990.

Guy Standing is a Professorial Research Associate at SOAS University of London and a founding member and honorary co-president of the Basic Income Earth Network (BIEN), a non-governmental organisation that promotes a basic income for all. He has held several leadership positions at the ILO.